Emcoe (Billings, Mont.) 1949-1959, March 06, 1959, Image 1

What is this?
Optical character recognition (OCR) is an automated process that converts a digital image containing numbers and letters into computer-readable numbers and letters. The search engine used on this web site searches OCR-generated text for the word or phrase you are looking for. Please note that OCR is not 100 percent accurate. If the original image is blurry, has extraneous marks, or contains ornate font styles or very small text, the OCR process will produce nonsense characters, extraneous spaces, and other errors, such as those you may see on this page. In addition, the OCR process cannot interpret images and may ignore them or render them as strings of nonsense characters. Despite these drawbacks, OCR remains a powerful tool for making newspaper pages accessible by searching.

Vol. 12, No. 21. Eastern Montana College, Billings, Montana March 6, 1959 Drama Students Present \The Two Mrs. Carrolls Eastern's Katoya Players take their audience to provincial France for a melodrama of a once-thwarted, would-be murderer who is threatened by the past, in the three-act play, \The Two Mrs. Carrolls,\ directed by W. H. Sturdy, drama coach. Barbara Bennett, Carol Sol, Suzy Dietrich, Claudia Green, L. Lenny Brush, Jeff Smith, Terry Swanson and Dick Westwell tread before the Science Auditorium footlights tonight and Saturday evening. Curtain time is 8:15 p.m. 1 The 1958-1959 officers of the Student Education Association pre . Side over Twenty-five Approved the election of officers and delegates for next year. The present officers, Dave Williams, Elaine Stebbins, Annie Larsen and James Poor, will be in charge of the installation of the newly elected group, spring quarter. As Winter Graduates Armstrong To Head S E A The election of officers and dele- gates to the Montana Education Association Delegate Assembly in Helena highlighted the March meet- ing of the Student Education Associa- tion Monday night. Newly elected officers were: Presi- dent, Leo Armstrong, Billings; Vice- President, Mary Lee Blankenship, Crow Agency; Secretary, Elizabeth Steensland, Big Timber; and Treas- urer, Darlene Bren of Lindsay. In- stallation of officers will be held at a joint meeting of S.E.A. and the Classroom Teachers of Billings in April. Delegates and alternates to attend the M.E.A. Delegate Assembly chosen were: Elaine Stebbins, Laurel; Dave Williams, Billings; Jim Poor, Billings; Leo Armstrong, Billings; Elizabeth Steensland, Big Timber; and Nancy Stickelberger, Laurel. It will be held in Helena March 23 and 24. Alternates who may attend the assembly and vote in case of the ab- sence of an appointed delegate are: —Continued on Page 6, Col. 1 New English Course Offered In Spring Pre-professional students at East- ern will get a chance to learn how to write reports and other technical writing forms in a new course to be offered the spring quarter by the English department, it was revealed today. The course will be English 235 and it is offered for the first time on this campus. Professor J. Bobbitt, former technical publications editor for Gen- eral Electric, will teach the three hour course. Pre-requisites are the basic freshman composition courses. Bobbitt said the course is designed primarily for the pre-professional student or any student who wants report making techniques developed. Writing the descriptive, interpretive and informative report as well as abstracts will be explained. They won't be just writing about plays and poems but rather reports like \how to take blood pressure\ and other practical expository methods, he said. Bobbit organized the present tech- nical writing sequence in use at the —Continued on Page 2, Col. 2 Twenty-five candidates for gradua- tion Winter Quarter were approved by faculty vote Tuesday with Amalie Roth Shannon of Billings slated to receive an M.S. in Education. Those who will be awarded the Bachelor degree in Secondary Edu- cation included Milton M. Butler, Josephine R. Green, Alan Charles Lee, Donald Dean Lippman, and John G. Robinson, all of Billings; Reuben Clifford Poole of Melstone, and Ken- neth Lee Benner of Charlo. Eligible to receive the Bachelor Degree in Elementary Education are Ella Johnston, Katherine Bale Sabbe, Mary Kathryn Tuttle, and. Marian G. Wilcox, all of Billings; Oakla Lilly Oleinik of Red Lodge, and Margaret McGinnis Wright of Glendive. Two year diplomas in Elementary Education will be awarded to Dorothy Herman Cooley, Naomi M. Marsh, and Susan Claire Bryngelson of Billings, Dorothy Elliott of Miles City, Fay Redding Haynie of Hysham, Nellie N. Fairburn Smith of Big Timber, Patricia Ellis Kleppen of Plentywood, Gail B. Troglia of Greycliff, Mabel Agnes Elpel of Intake. Students who will receive two-year —Continued on Page 6, Col. 1

Emcoe (Billings, Mont.), 06 March 1959, located at <http://montananewspapers.org/lccn/Emcoe/1959-03-06/ed-1/seq-1/>, image provided by MONTANA NEWSPAPERS, Montana Historical Society, Helena, Montana.